• português (Portugal)
  • Australia (AUD $)
  • Austria (EUR €)
  • Belgium (EUR €)
  • Bosnia & Herzegovina (BAM КМ)
  • Bulgaria (BGN лв.)
  • Canada (CAD $)
  • Chile (CLP $)
  • China (CNY ¥)
  • Croatia (AUD $)
  • Cyprus (EUR €)
  • Czechia (CZK Kč)
  • Denmark (DKK kr.)
  • Estonia (EUR €)
  • Fiji (FJD $)
  • Finland (EUR €)
  • France (EUR €)
  • Germany (EUR €)
  • Gibraltar (GBP £)
  • Greece (EUR €)
  • Guernsey (GBP £)
  • Hong Kong SAR (HKD $)
  • Hungary (HUF Ft)
  • Ireland (EUR €)
  • Italy (EUR €)
  • Japan (JPY ¥)
  • Jersey (AUD $)
  • Lithuania (EUR €)
  • Luxembourg (EUR €)
  • Malaysia (MYR RM)
  • Malta (EUR €)
  • Mexico (MXN $)
  • Netherlands (EUR €)
  • New Caledonia (XPF Fr)
  • New Zealand (NZD $)
  • Norfolk Island (AUD $)
  • Norway (NOK kr)
  • Papua New Guinea (PGK K)
  • Philippines (PHP ₱)
  • Poland (PLN zł)
  • Romania (RON Lei)
  • Saudi Arabia (SAR ر.س)
  • Singapore (SGD $)
  • Slovakia (EUR €)
  • Slovenia (EUR €)
  • South Korea (KRW ₩)
  • Spain (EUR €)
  • Sweden (SEK kr)
  • Switzerland (CHF CHF)
  • Taiwan (TWD $)
  • Thailand (THB ฿)
  • United Arab Emirates (AED د.إ)
  • United Kingdom (GBP £)
  • United States (USD $)
  • Vietnam (VND ₫)
  • BADGERY BELTS
  • BEFORE DARK
  • BUFFALO GIRL
  • KAKADU TRADERS
  • MCDONALD TEXTILES
  • RUGGED HIDE
  • UGG AUSTRALIA
  • BASEBALL CAPS
  • ITALIAN CAPS
  • NEW ZEALAND CAPS
  • ALL ACCESSORIES
  • FELT QUALITY
  • PRIVACY POLICY
  • FEDERATION IV
  • EXCHANGES & RETURNS

akubra traveller review

  • THE AKUBRA RANGE
  • HATTERY EXCLUSIVES
  • URBAN STYLES
  • COUNTRY STYLES
  • WESTERN STYLES
  • LIFESTYLE COLLECTION
  • HERITAGE COLLECTION
  • SPECIAL OCCASIONS
  • ALL FELT HATS
  • FUR FELT HATS
  • WOOL FELT HATS
  • STANTON HATS
  • STETSON HATS

OUTDOOR HATS

  • THE OUTDOORS RANGE
  • BARMAH HATS
  • TILLEY HATS
  • WINTER HATS
  • ALL STRAW HATS

akubra traveller review

  • ALL KNITWEAR

akubra traveller review

ACCESSORIES

akubra traveller review

Working out your size - getting it right the first time.

  • Do not use size charts or advice from other sites.
  • Do not simply convert US or UK size standards on our charts to a metric size. We provide the charts as guide, not as a rule.
  • Measure your head, different manufacturers have differing interpretations of size as happens across other clothing lines.
  • Measuring your head takes a few minutes and takes the guesswork out of the equation. Please use a dress makers tape measure and not a piece of string...
  • Size charts and advice are designed for Felt Hats (Akubra and Fedora) and Leather Hats (Barmah)
  • Always presume that a hat will shrink in size, they do not stretch over time.
  • Adjustment foam strips and detailed care instructions are sent with each hat. Enough strips are sent to reduce a hat by one size.
  • We happily exchange to anywhere in the world, but getting it right the first time is easier for all of us.
  • Ask us for advice, the advice we provide is based on many years experience in mail order and selling hats. We are happy to answer as many questions as you need to ask.

Fedora, Akubra and Felt Hats

The size chart below is a guide to equivalent sizes in other measures. If you are unsure of your head size, please remeasure your head in inches or cms.

  • We recommend re-measuring your head size in inches or cms and converting from the new measurement.
  • Place a tape measure above the ears, and take it around the widest part of your head. The tape should be firm but not too tight. If in between sizes, round up to the closest size, ie 56.2 should be 57, 57.7 should be a 58 etc.
  • We supply FREE foam adjustment tape or pads to adjust the hat to a perfect fit.
  • We supply enough tape to convert a hat a full size down, ie a size 58 becomes a size 57.

Barmah Canvas & Leather Hats

In the event of a hat not fitting we accept returns. If you still need assistance or want to double check the result please contact us at  [email protected] and we will be happy to advise further.

The ideal traveller’s hat, featuring a soft, conforming structure. A softer pliable felt hat designed specifically for the adventurer among us. This hat has a unique memory which allows it to be manipulated back to shape if mistreated. Features a plaited  leather band and soft inner buckram sweat band.

Sizes & Specs:

  • Black, Fern & Sand: Size 53-62
  • Bran: Size 54-62
  • Red & Rust: 54-61
  • Regency Fawn: Size 53-63
  • Brim: 76mm Welted Edge
  • Crown Height: Centre Front 10.5cm, Side 12cm
  • Cotton/Buckram Internal Sweatband
  • 100% Imperial Quality Rabbit Fur Felt
  • Made in Australia

You may also like

Online & In-Store

Decades of Experience

Global Shipping

  • Classifieds
  • Search forums
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here .

Akubra Traveller, Leisure Time, or Style Master?

  • Thread starter irfan.wayang
  • Start date Jan 5, 2012
  • Jan 5, 2012

irfan.wayang

  • irfan.wayang

Familiar Face

Brrr. I'm in Central Vietnam, and it's very chilly. Having lived on the equator for decades, I've never thought about anything other than a straw or similar. But with the current trip, and another one coming up in Japan in March (cold!), I think I need a felt Akubra. When I skim through the catalogs, the one that always strikes my eye is the Style Master -- but it IS a formal hat, and I'm probably going to want to wear mine with casual dress -- and a formal hat with casual dress always makes someone look a bit too much like a try-hard for my liking. I like a hat that doesn't say "Hey, everybody, I'm wearing a hat!". So the two that I have in mind are the Leisure Time and the Traveller, both more causal than the Style Master. I can see that attractions of something that is close to being packable, but I must admit that the style of the Traveller doesn't really win my heart. The Leisure Time looks about right, but is not packable. Any ideas? I wonder why Akubra don't do more of the pliofelt range? It would be nice if they took some of their most popular products and made a traveling version (so, say, the "Stylemaster Traveller").  

Sam Craig

One Too Many

I got to interview the country-swing group "Riders In The Sky" several times and when we were sitting around jaw-boning one time, I asked a couple of the guys how they kept their classic western hats safe while traveling ... we had been discussing the busy schedule they had of both over-the-road and air travel. I was expecting some insight into the great hat luggage they used. Ranger Doug explained they each wore their best hat because there was no sure way they found to pack them. I would suggest if you want a nice fur felt hat, don't plan on putting it into luggage. Pick the one you like the looks of and wear it when you travel. Sam  

Edward

That's what I tend to do, making sure I also have a few caps and other easily packed hats in my case so I have an alternative if it gets especially windy while I am away. Never had a problem with one of my felt hats going in an overhead locker with reasonable care (tbh, I think we baby our hats too often these days).  

Stinkykid

New in Town

I've tried on a Traveller and I didn't like the feel of the felt as much as a regular Akubra. It's nicely soft but quite a bit thicker and doesn't have the same quality feel to me. But if you're worried about the cold maybe a Traveller would be a bit warmer to wear. Still, I'm not a fan of it. I agree with the other posters and I don't believe any hat is packable. It's bound to stay creased and uneven after you fold it and won't go back fully to its original shape. I haven't tried doing that to a Traveller though and I'm not sure the shop would have let me. Regular Akubra hats take a beating pretty well and it adds character over time. I'd go for the Leisure Time if that's the style you like best. And for suitcases I have a nice tweed flat cap with Bugatti-style ear flaps which is also extremely warm. I got it from James Lock & Co hatters in London (or at least from their website).  

randooch

I'll Lock Up

When I do an Advanced Search for threads with "Akubra" in the title, 120 of them show up.  

randooch said: When I do an Advanced Search for threads with "Akubra" in the title, 120 of them show up. Click to expand...

Neophyte

My Mail is Forwarded Here

If you'd like a casual hat, the "Leisure Time" seems appropriate.  

EggHead

Practically Family

I have Leisure Time. My impressions: Sturdy, rain proof, casual, comfortable, not good in windy conditions (because back brim is hanging down and catches up-drafts), not packable (because it's medium stiff), brim and crown can be bashed differently, just add water and/or steam.  

You need to differentiate between whether you want a packable hat or a dress hat. I've had a lot of "campaign" hats that have been used as pillows, packed in haversacks, kept in trunks, used to fan fires ... all sorts of things I'd never dream of doing with my Art Fawcett Fedora. Sure, you can have beater hats you can toss in luggage. Any decent canvas fedora will take that and pop back for use. But you seem to be discussing dress hats, and those should never be packed. Not to change the subject, but EggHead ... that is one fine looking lid in your Avatar. Is that new? What is it? Later, Sam  

  • Jan 6, 2012

Thanks Sam, that's Blacksheephatworks custom. I had it for 8 months or so, but didn't wear it during summer months.  

Duper

I have the Traveller in the sand colour and I like it very much. A very soft felt but a bit thicker. Casual. I would like it even more if it had a leather sweatband. I packed it in my luggage for a trip to the UK from Canada and it survived no worse for the journey. I noticed recently that they have really expanded the colour options for the Traveller. If you are into the Leisure Time which is a very similar style you might want to check it our with Sam over at Everything Australian. His hat is priced significantly less than $140.00. Now I also own an Akubra Casual which is from their Lifestyle line and the felt on that hat is significantly thinner and lighter so if you wanted a hat with a smaller brim and more along the Stylemaster than that is another option, but it is more formal looking. Hope you find the one you like.  

  • Jan 7, 2012
EggHead said: Thanks Sam, that's Blacksheephatworks custom. I had it for 8 months or so, but didn't wear it during summer months. Click to expand...

Similar threads

  • Mar 6, 2024

VansonRider

  • Mar 30, 2024

Who?

  • Mar 29, 2024

Naphtali

  • Apr 19, 2024

jlee562

  • Jan 27, 2024
  • Stay logged in

Members online

  • MickeyPunch
  • Philippe1804
  • Aladeen's magic carpet

Forum statistics

  • This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register. By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies. Accept Learn more…

akubra traveller review

  • Accessories

Leather Belts

akubra traveller review

  • Hat Accessories
  • Akubra History Book

akubra traveller review

Leather Bags

akubra traveller review

  • All Country
  • Coober Pedy
  • Snowy River
  • All Western
  • Golden Spur
  • Rough Rider
  • Stony Creek
  • Banjo Paterson
  • Leisure Time
  • Stylemaster
  • All Hat Care
  • Hat Stretcher
  • All Accessories
  • Presentation Box

Your cart is empty

Traveller - Bran | Akubra Hats.

Currently shipping is limited to Australia and New Zealand.

Shipping is charged according to weight. 1-2 hats is $25. Shipping for small accessory items is $15

Within Australia we use the StarTrack Premium service which is as quick an Express Post to most destinations.

We have a 60 day return period. There is a tracked return label fee of $25 to return a hat and you can exchange the item or request a store credit. Gift returns are eligible for a store credit.

akubra traveller review

Australian Made

Handcrafting in Australia for almost 150 years

akubra traveller review

Fast Shipping

We ship Monday-Thursday using StarTrack's Premium service

akubra traveller review

Customer service

Speedy, helpful assistance via live chat or email

FREE DELIVERY Over $300

akubra traveller review

Klipsta Magnetic Hat Carry Clip Stone

akubra traveller review

Felt Care cleaning Kit All felt hats

akubra traveller review

Hats by the Hundred Hat Brush Long Handle

akubra traveller review

Hat Filler Inserts (4 Pcs) Hat Reducer White

akubra traveller review

Travel Hat Carry Case Store your hats

akubra traveller review

Hat Jack Hat Stretcher Medium 57cm 61cm

60 Day Returns

Up to 50% off. Shop the Sale

  • Argentina (AUD $)
  • Australia (AUD $)
  • Austria (EUR €)
  • Belgium (EUR €)
  • Brunei (BND $)
  • Canada (CAD $)
  • China (CNY ¥)
  • Croatia (EUR €)
  • Cyprus (EUR €)
  • Czechia (CZK Kč)
  • Denmark (DKK kr.)
  • Estonia (EUR €)
  • Finland (EUR €)
  • France (EUR €)
  • Georgia (AUD $)
  • Germany (EUR €)
  • Greece (EUR €)
  • Hong Kong SAR (HKD $)
  • Hungary (HUF Ft)
  • Ireland (EUR €)
  • Israel (ILS ₪)
  • Italy (EUR €)
  • Japan (JPY ¥)
  • Luxembourg (EUR €)
  • Macao SAR (MOP P)
  • Malaysia (MYR RM)
  • Malta (EUR €)
  • Netherlands (EUR €)
  • New Caledonia (XPF Fr)
  • New Zealand (NZD $)
  • Norway (AUD $)
  • Oman (AUD $)
  • Peru (PEN S/.)
  • Philippines (PHP ₱)
  • Poland (PLN zł)
  • Portugal (EUR €)
  • Romania (RON Lei)
  • Saudi Arabia (SAR ر.س)
  • Singapore (SGD $)
  • Slovakia (EUR €)
  • Slovenia (EUR €)
  • South Africa (AUD $)
  • South Korea (KRW ₩)
  • Spain (EUR €)
  • Sweden (SEK kr)
  • Switzerland (CHF CHF)
  • Taiwan (TWD $)
  • Thailand (THB ฿)
  • Türkiye (AUD $)
  • United Arab Emirates (AED د.إ)
  • United Kingdom (GBP £)
  • United States (USD $)
  • Vietnam (VND ₫)
  • Accessories

The Hat Store

  • New Arrivals
  • Best Sellers
  • Akubra Hats
  • Brixton Headwear
  • Kooringal Australia
  • Barmah Hats Australia
  • Goorin Brothers
  • New Era Caps
  • Caps & Snapbacks
  • Trucker Hats
  • Fedoras & Trilbys
  • Flat Caps & Drivers
  • Bucket Hats
  • Cowboy & Western Hats
  • Leather Hats
  • Panama Hats
  • Formal & Occasion
  • Sun Protection Hats
  • Winter Hats
  • Outback Hats
  • Hats for Travel
  • Sports Hats
  • Australian Made Hats
  • Casual Fedoras
  • Hats for Large Heads

akubra traveller review

  • Cancer Council Australia
  • Canopy Bay by Deborah Hutton
  • Straw, Raffia & Fashion Hats
  • Women's Caps
  • Travel-Friendly Hats
  • Wide Brim Hats
  • Women's Cowgirl Hats
  • Visors Hats
  • Beanies & Berets
  • Medium Brim Hats
  • Floppy Hats

akubra traveller review

  • Baby 0-12 Months
  • Toddlers 12-24 Months
  • Toddlers 2-5 Years
  • Kids Hats 5-9 Years
  • Kids Hats 10-12+ Years
  • Swimming Hats
  • Sun Protection
  • Legionnaires
  • Kids Cowboy Hats

akubra traveller review

  • Hat Care Kit
  • Hat Stretchers
  • Leather Protection
  • Hat Brushes
  • Hat Reduces
  • Hat Stands & Display
  • Cap Carriers
  • Chin Straps
  • Hat Carry Clips

akubra traveller review

Akubra Traveller Fern

Hat sizing chart - generic.

Need help choosing your size? To get personalised size and fit help, either call or message us here!

All sizes are approximate*

Measure your Head Size

To determine your hat size, follow these 4 simple steps:

  • Using either a soft tape measure or a piece of string - Measure the circumference around your head.
  • The tape should be level, in the centre of your forehead and just above the top of your ears. It is useful to have someone assist in holding the tape which should be adjusted to a comfortable fit and the measurement taken.
  • Then check our size chart below to determine your size.
  • If your size falls between two sizes, choose the next size up. You can always attach foam fillers (available for sale) to ensure a snug fit.

akubra traveller review

  • 53cm (6 5/8)
  • 54cm (6 3/4)
  • 55cm (6 7/8)
  • 57cm (7 1/8)
  • 58cm (7 1/4)
  • 59cm (7 3/8)
  • 60cm (7 1/2)
  • 61cm (7 5/8)

Free Shipping Over $300 - Australia Wide

60 day Returns

  The Akubra Traveller is a resilient hat crafted with a softer, pliable fur felt to cater to the adventurous. Its unique memory ensures it can be reshaped into its original form if mishandled. Designed with superior rabbit fur, it's one of Akubra's most long-lasting hats. Fold it into your luggage without worry, as it will retain its original profile when you don it again. At 76mm, its brim provides excellent protection from the sun and elements, while the 5/16 inch ornamentation adds style. The crown is approximately 100mm tall with a 3" welted brim and memory insert, is unlined, and is fitted with a fabric band for packing. The unique kangaroo hat band makes it truly perfect with its two-toned black and brown design.

* Note: Colour of hat may vary slightly from photo* 

  •   Colour :  Fern
  •   Material  : Pure Fur Felt of imperial quality . An investment that will stand the test of time and the toughest of treatments.
  •   Styling  : Perfect for the traveller.
  •   Brim Size  :76mm with a welt edge. A soft inner sweat band makes for a comforatable wear in all conditions. The crown is unlined with a fabric band to allow the  hat  to  be packed
  •  Excellent Sun Protection  : Akubra fabrics are currently rated at UPF50+. This is the highest classification for sun protection
  •   Water Resistant  : Akubra Hats are shower proof and include a water proofing solution.
  •   Other features  : Proudly Australian made
  •   How to find the right size for you ? To pick your hat size , measure around your head where you would like the base or brim of the hat to sit. Please see the  description tab below for Akubra size chart and helpful hints regarding the sizing

Akubra is an Australian hat manufacturer. The company is associated with bush hats made of rabbit fur felt with wide brims that are worn in rural Australia.

In 1874 Benjamin Dunkerley arrived in Tasmania from England and decided to start a hat making business in Hobart. His skills as a hatter were backed by his ability to invent machinery, and soon after his arrival he had developed a mechanical method of removing the hair tip from rabbit fur so the under-fur could be used in felt hat making. Previously this task had to be done by hand.

By 2015 Akubra has produced two million hats for the military.

Akubra Hats are still proudly Australian made in Kempsey.

  • Facebook Share on Facebook
  • Twitter Share on Twitter
  • Pinterest Pin it

akubra traveller review

John Deere Stoned Washed Cap Green/Ivory

akubra traveller review

Rigon Hugh Trilby Natural/Tan

akubra traveller review

New Era New York Yankees 39THIRTY Cap New Olive/Everest Green

akubra traveller review

Before Dark Packable Unisex Fedora Natural/Black

akubra traveller review

Cancer Council Outback Foldable Fedora Grey/Black

akubra traveller review

Brixton Hooligan Cap Black Herringbone

akubra traveller review

Kooringal Unisex Safari Kallie Nude

akubra traveller review

28 Eastern Acacia Drifter Felt Hat Timberwolf

The Hat Store is situated on the Gold Coast and is one of Australia's best known retail and online hats stores. Established in 1983.

  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms & Conditions
  • START A RETURN
  • General Shipping Info
  • Returns Policy
  • Track your order HERE

Subscribe for exclusive offers and first access to sales and new drops.

  • Adapt a Cap
  • Ace of Something
  • Akubra Accessories
  • American Needle
  • Avenel of Melbourne
  • Barmah Hats
  • Before Dark
  • Brigalow Country
  • Brixton Hats
  • Camilo Panama Hats
  • Cherry Red Hats
  • Christine Headwear
  • Evoke Australia
  • Failsworth UK
  • Flexfit Caps
  • Hanna Hats - Ireland
  • Hats by the Hundred
  • HW Collection
  • Indiana Jones Hats
  • Jacaru Australia
  • Jekyll & Hide
  • Kakadu Traders
  • Kangol Headwear
  • Kooringal Hats
  • Melbourne Hats
  • Millymook Girls
  • New Era Hats
  • ooGee Australia
  • Rigon Headwear
  • Ringers Western
  • R.M.Williams
  • Shelta Hats USA
  • Stanton Hats
  • Statesman Hats
  • Stetson USA
  • Summer Lovin
  • Sundaise Hats
  • Thomas Cook
  • Tilley Hats
  • Tina M Copenhagen
  • UFLEX Headwear
  • Skip to primary navigation
  • Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar

Stridewise

It's a Boot Time

Akubra Campdraft Review – The Best Australian Hat?

' src=

When most people think of cowboy hats, they think of the iconic American company, Stetson , but a company who may not be as well known here in the US — but is just as rugged and iconic — is the Australian company, Akubra.  

Akubra has been making quality fur felt hats since it was founded in 1874 in Hobart, Tasmania.  They’ve provided hats to the Australian military starting in the 1940s and as of 2015 they’ve produced over 2 million hats for the armed forces down under. They’ve also made a few hats for big Hollywood films like the classic “Man from Snowy River”, “Australia”, but here in the US they’re probably best known for the iconic “Croc” from the blockbuster film “Crocodile Dundee”.  They proudly continue to make hats in Australia in Kempsey, New South Wales. 

Needless to say, Akubra knows a thing or two when it comes to making hats.

akubra campdraft

Table of Contents

Akubra Campdraft Aesthetics

Although they’re known for their bush and western hats, one of their most versatile hats (and my personal favorite) is the Campdraft.  The Campdraft is an open crown fedora fur felt hat with a 5 ½ inch crown, 2 ¾ inch bound edge snap brim and a ½ inch ribbon band.  It is fully lined with a reeded roan leather sweatband.  Roan leather is a soft and flexible sheepskin. Since this is basically the only part of the hat that rests on your skin, this attribute makes roan leather the best choice for quality hatmakers.  The best hats use “reeded” sweatbands.  The reed is basically a plastic wire which runs through a ribbon in the leather band designed to conform and hold to the shape of the head.

akubra campdraft

Campdraft Material and Colors

Like most quality Akubra hats, the Campdraft is made of Akubra’s Imperial Quality Fur Felt.  Quality fur felt is determined by the type of fur used and the felting process.  Akubra uses rabbit fur.  Not only do they cut the fur from the skin themselves for better quality control, but they are one of few companies who make their own hats from start to finish.

Fur felt hats are shower-proof, which means they can be worn in light to moderate rain, with little chance of damage or losing its shape.  After being in the rain it’s best to let it dry naturally.  Do not put it near a heater as this may cause it to shrink.  Wool hats, on the other hand, are porous and tend to not shed water very well.  Fur felt hats can easily be reblocked if they lose their shape and are smoother to the touch.  Wool hats tend to lose their shape quicker and are a bit harder to reshape.

The Campdraft is available in three colorways: Silverbelly, Black and the hard-to-find Bluegrass Green.

[Related: The Stetson Stratoliner Review of the Most Iconic American Fedora]

akubra campdraft

Campdraft Price

The Campdraft is moderately priced between $139 – $160, depending on the dealer.  This is a very good price for a hat of this quality.  Note:  As of this writing, the Campdraft is not available on the Akubra website, but can be found from numerous vendors such as Everything Australian , Australian Gear and David Morgan .

akubra campdraft

Campdraft Care and Storage

The Campdraft is a tough hat and is made to take a beating, which makes care for this hat very simple.  Brushing the hat every few weeks to remove any dust with a quality hat brush is pretty much all the care it needs.  

When not wearing the hat, it’s best to lay it flat on the crown to keep the brim from losing its shape.  If you prefer, you can also snap the brim back up and lay it flat on the brim.  Once the hat starts losing its shape (which will most likely take years to happen) the hat can be reshaped by using steam to reshape it.  This can be easily done by using the steam from a tea kettle or clothes steamer and reshaping the crown and brim.  It’s not difficult, but it does take some practice.  If the hat has completely lost its shape, it’s best to take it to a professional hatter for reblocking.

The hat, like most quality fur felt hats, is water resistant.  It can be worn in the rain and left to air dry.  Unless it was caught in a torrential downpour for hours, it should retain its original shape.  Note: Never dry the hat near a heater as this will cause the hat, and more specifically, the leather sweatband to shrink.  Air drying is always best.

akubra campdraft

In my opinion, Campdraft has a lot going for it.

First is the price.  If you’re looking to buy your first quality hat, but don’t want to break the bank, you can’t go wrong with a Campdraft.  Price between $140 – $160 this is a great way to see what a quality fur felt hat can do.

Second is the all-around size.  The crown height and brim size work great with practically all head sizes.  It’s not too small to make you look like a hipster, not that that’s a bad thing, but not too large where people will ask you where you left your horse.  It also runs true-to-size.  For example, I wear a 57 (or 7 ⅛) and the Akubra fits me perfectly in that size.

Third is the quality/construction.  Akubra is known for their well made hats and quality fur felt.  It holds its shape extremely well.  This is a hat that, unless you lose it, will be with you for a long time and will continue to look good as well.

A bonus for me is that it comes with an open crown.  An open crown, which means the top of the hat, also known as the crown, has not been pre-shaped and has a domed top, which allows you to give it your own personal crease in the crown.  You can do anything from a Cattleman’s Crease or a Diamond Shape crease to a classic fedora crease.

As beautiful as the Campdraft is, it’s not the best on humid summer days.  Fur felt can get pretty hot.  Personally I don’t know how the cowboys did it.  If you live in a part of the world with a humid climate, then a straw or hemp hat would be a better option.

akubra campdraft

How to Buy Akubra Campdraft

Also, there are rumors that Akubra may have discontinued this hat, so I strongly suggest you grab one as soon as possible.  As I mentioned earlier this hat can be found on sites such as Everything Australian , Australian Gear and David Morgan .

So if you’re looking for the perfect hat for a walkabout in the bush or Sunday brunch in the concrete jungle, the Akubra Campdraft is the perfect choice.

' src=

Eric Rodriguez

Eric Rodriguez is a New York City-based self-proclaimed “hip”, 50-something living in Williamsburg Brooklyn, who loves to discuss important topics such as self-esteem, confidence, men’s style/fashion, fitness, beard and hair grooming, hats, boots, watches and anything else men think about.

You Might Also Like

akubra bushman green shirt

About Stridewise

by Nick English

Founded in 2018 to help men buy the best boots, Stridewise is committed to finding and celebrating footwear, apparel, and gear that’s as close to “buy it for life” quality as possible. Our reviewers and experts create authentic, independent reviews of top-quality casual boots, menswear, and accessories. We take great pride in being your most trusted source for advice while maintaining complete editorial independence. At no extra cost to you, we might earn a commission from a brand when you purchase through our links, which helps us keep our mission alive. Learn More

11 Ways to Save Money on Boots

Subscribe for an exclusive article to help you find the best deals on quality footwear.

Reader Interactions

Join the discussion cancel reply.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment.

' src=

June 3, 2022 at 11:04 am

' src=

June 5, 2022 at 9:30 am

You got it Steve!

' src=

July 19, 2022 at 11:26 am

That was a really good looking hat with a personal touch. Very nice! I think I’ll get myself a Campdraft to complement my two Snowy Rivers!

July 20, 2022 at 1:04 am

That’s great, Jarl! Hope you manage to find one, they can be tough to hunt down if you’re not in Australia!

' src=

September 15, 2022 at 3:00 pm

Thanks for the detailed review. Picked one up as it seems they are indeed discontinued. Really love the feel and quality of this hat. Do you know the width of the pictured leather band?

October 14, 2022 at 3:25 pm

I don’t sorry that’s a custom one from the author, you can ask him at https://www.instagram.com/ericrnycstyle/ !

' src=

October 25, 2022 at 9:07 pm

Great looking hat. I wish I had the confidence I could shape an open crown as I like the extra brim width compared to my Akubra Stylemaster.

November 2, 2022 at 3:06 pm

Glad you’re enjoying an Akubra nonetheless!

' src=

May 9, 2023 at 4:33 pm

I own 3 Campdrafts and agree with everything said here!

May 16, 2023 at 10:52 pm

Hell yeah Paul!

' src=

December 12, 2023 at 3:37 pm

January 17, 2024 at 6:51 pm

Glad you found the article Vincent! I wear my akubra a lot, even though my girlfriend doesn’t love it haha

Trending Now

a man pondering the best boots for men

Men don’t have a lot of rites of passage. We finish school, we get jobs, maybe we wear a suit, maybe we don’t. We’re told that adulthood starts at 18 or 21, but the older we get the more we realize that isn’t true. Maturity comes slower than that and while this may sound silly, I think one of the marks of manhood is the first time you pay top dollar for a pair of quality, durable, head-turning boots.  Read more

Articles by Category

  • Accessories
  • Boot & Leather Care
  • Boot Guides
  • Boot Reviews
  • Cowboy Boots
  • Denim Jackets
  • Denim Review
  • Jackets & Outerwear
  • Leather Bags
  • Leather Conditioners
  • Leather Jackets
  • Uncategorized
  • Waxed Canvas Jackets
  • Women's Boots

akubra traveller review

Akubra Adventurer - Regency Fawn 59 › Customer reviews

Customer reviews.

Akubra Adventurer - Regency Fawn 59

Akubra Adventurer - Regency Fawn 59

Customer Reviews, including Product Star Ratings help customers to learn more about the product and decide whether it is the right product for them.

To calculate the overall star rating and percentage breakdown by star, we don’t use a simple average. Instead, our system considers things like how recent a review is and if the reviewer bought the item on Amazon. It also analyzed reviews to verify trustworthiness.

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

From the united states.

akubra traveller review

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

akubra traveller review

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

  • Amazon Newsletter
  • About Amazon
  • Accessibility
  • Sustainability
  • Press Center
  • Investor Relations
  • Amazon Devices
  • Amazon Science
  • Sell on Amazon
  • Sell apps on Amazon
  • Supply to Amazon
  • Protect & Build Your Brand
  • Become an Affiliate
  • Become a Delivery Driver
  • Start a Package Delivery Business
  • Advertise Your Products
  • Self-Publish with Us
  • Become an Amazon Hub Partner
  • › See More Ways to Make Money
  • Amazon Visa
  • Amazon Store Card
  • Amazon Secured Card
  • Amazon Business Card
  • Shop with Points
  • Credit Card Marketplace
  • Reload Your Balance
  • Amazon Currency Converter
  • Your Account
  • Your Orders
  • Shipping Rates & Policies
  • Amazon Prime
  • Returns & Replacements
  • Manage Your Content and Devices
  • Recalls and Product Safety Alerts
  • Conditions of Use
  • Privacy Notice
  • Consumer Health Data Privacy Disclosure
  • Your Ads Privacy Choices

akubra traveller review

Klipsta Magnetic Hat Carry Clip Stone

akubra traveller review

Klipsta Magnetic Hat Carry Clip Black

akubra traveller review

Deluxe Hat Stretcher

akubra traveller review

Felt Care cleaning Kit All felt hats

60 Day Returns

Worldwide Shipping

Aussie Brands

  • Argentina (AUD $)
  • Australia (AUD $)
  • Austria (EUR €)
  • Belgium (EUR €)
  • Brunei (BND $)
  • Canada (CAD $)
  • China (CNY ¥)
  • Croatia (EUR €)
  • Cyprus (EUR €)
  • Czechia (CZK Kč)
  • Denmark (DKK kr.)
  • Estonia (EUR €)
  • Finland (EUR €)
  • France (EUR €)
  • Georgia (AUD $)
  • Germany (EUR €)
  • Greece (EUR €)
  • Hong Kong SAR (HKD $)
  • Hungary (HUF Ft)
  • Ireland (EUR €)
  • Italy (EUR €)
  • Japan (JPY ¥)
  • Luxembourg (EUR €)
  • Macao SAR (MOP P)
  • Malta (EUR €)
  • Netherlands (EUR €)
  • New Caledonia (XPF Fr)
  • New Zealand (NZD $)
  • Norway (NOK kr)
  • Oman (AUD $)
  • Peru (PEN S/.)
  • Philippines (PHP ₱)
  • Poland (PLN zł)
  • Portugal (EUR €)
  • Romania (RON Lei)
  • Saudi Arabia (SAR ر.س)
  • Singapore (SGD $)
  • Slovakia (EUR €)
  • Slovenia (EUR €)
  • South Africa (AUD $)
  • South Korea (KRW ₩)
  • Spain (EUR €)
  • Sweden (SEK kr)
  • Switzerland (CHF CHF)
  • Taiwan (TWD $)
  • Thailand (THB ฿)
  • Türkiye (AUD $)
  • United Kingdom (GBP £)
  • United States (USD $)
  • Vietnam (VND ₫)
  • SHOP BY BRAND
  • WOMENS HATS
  • ACCESSORIES
  • Akubra Hats
  • Adapt a Cap
  • Ace of Something
  • Avenel of Melbourne
  • Badgery Belts
  • Barmah Hats
  • Before Dark
  • Camilo Panama Hats
  • Cancer Council Australia
  • Evoke Australia
  • Hats By The Hundred
  • HW Collection
  • Jacaru Australia
  • Kooringal Hats
  • Melbourne Hats
  • Millymook Kids
  • ooGee Australia
  • Outback Trading Co
  • Rigon Headwear
  • Ringers Western Hats
  • Stanton Hats
  • Statesman Hats
  • Thomas Cook

akubra traveller review

  • New Arrivals
  • Best Sellers
  • Accessories
  • Jacaru Hats
  • Ringers Western
  • Akubra Fedora Hats
  • Australian Made
  • Aussie Bush Hats
  • Beanies & Berets
  • Bucket Hats
  • Men's Caps
  • Country Hats
  • Crocodile Hats
  • Exotic Hats
  • Fashion Hats
  • Fedora Hats
  • Flat Caps & Drivers
  • Leather Hats
  • Travel Hats
  • Outback Hats
  • Foldable Hats
  • Oilskin Hats
  • Fur Felt Hats
  • Large Size Hats
  • Winter Hats

akubra traveller review

  • 28 Eastern Hats
  • Sundaise Hats
  • Before Dark Hats
  • Canopy Bay by Deborah Hutton
  • Adventure Hats
  • Autumn Winter Hats
  • Cloche Hats
  • Straw & Fashion Hats
  • Provence Hats
  • Raffia Hats
  • Spring Summer Hats
  • Cowgirl & Western Hats

akubra traveller review

  • Hat Stretchers
  • Leather Protection
  • Hat Brushes
  • Hat Reduces
  • Chin Straps
  • Hat Carry Clips

akubra traveller review

Akubra Traveller Black

Hat sizing chart - generic.

Need help choosing your size? To get personalised size and fit help, either call or message us here!

All sizes are approximate*

Measure your Head Size

To determine your hat size, follow these 4 simple steps:

  • Using either a soft tape measure or a piece of string - Measure the circumference around your head.
  • The tape should be level, in the centre of your forehead and just above the top of your ears. It is useful to have someone assist in holding the tape which should be adjusted to a comfortable fit and the measurement taken.
  • Then check our size chart below to determine your size.
  • If your size falls between two sizes, choose the next size up. You can always attach foam fillers (available for sale) to ensure a snug fit.

akubra traveller review

  • 53cm (6 5/8)
  • 54cm (6 3/4)
  • 55cm (6 7/8)
  • 57cm (7 1/8)
  • 58cm (7 1/4)
  • 59cm (7 3/8)
  • 60cm (7 1/2)
  • 61cm (7 5/8)

Worldwide Delivery Available

60 day Returns

The Akubra Traveller is the ideal travellers hat, featuring a soft conforming structure and a unique ‘memory’ for those on the move which makes it the perfect through and go hat because it will never lose its shape. You will not regret this fabulous purchase!

  • Colour: This is our classy Black
  • Material: Imperial Quality Pure Fur Felt, Pilofelt
  • Styling:  Lifestyle Collection
  • Brim: 79mm Welt Edge Finish
  • Crown Height: 100mm
  • Hatband: Ornamental hat band
  • Unique: Pre-creased pinched telescope crown
  • Sun protection AND Water Resistance
  • Other: Made in Australia with a leather inner sweatband

* Please Note: Feather not included but can be purchased separately

Akubra is an Australian hat manufacturer. The company is associated with bush hats made of rabbit fur felt with wide brims that are worn in rural Australia.

In 1874 Benjamin Dunkerley arrived in Tasmania from England and decided to start a hat making business in Hobart. His skills as a hatter were backed by his ability to invent machinery, and soon after his arrival he had developed a mechanical method of removing the hair tip from rabbit fur so the under-fur could be used in felt hat making. Previously this task had to be done by hand.

By 2015 Akubra has produced two million hats for the military.

Akubra Hats are still proudly Australian made in Kempsey.

  • Facebook Share on Facebook
  • Twitter Share on Twitter
  • Pinterest Pin it

akubra traveller review

Hat Jack Hat Stretcher Large XL 59cm 64cm

akubra traveller review

The Akubra Chin Strap Tan

akubra traveller review

Fedora Hat Carry Case

akubra traveller review

The Akubra Chin Strap Black

akubra traveller review

Hat Filler Inserts Hat Reducer Value 3 Pack Black

Customer Reviews

I saw this style hat in our local outdoors store and wanted to purchase one to take away on our overseas holiday. Unfortunately the display hat was the only one in stock and not my size last. Our friendly retailer made some calls for me including to the Akubra factory, but it was going to be several weeks before more became available. i then got in touch with you guys and ordered one and then went on our holiday. Some weeks later the hat arrived. Beautiful styling, very light and, for the traveller, it is crushable and returns to its original shape easily. I am totally sold on my Traveller and look forward to many holidays and long service from my hat. This is my forever hat now. Great job to the team at Aus Gear. Wonderful Service . Thank you John Feeney

User picture

I bought this to replace my much loved and venerable Akubra cattleman's hat - purchased in Sydney many years ago. I managed to lose it somewhere. I chose a different style just in case my old hat turned up. The hat - of course - is peerless quality, with a different brim style from what I'm used to. The price is great - much cheaper than I could get locally in the UK. The service from Australian Gear was fantastic. The order was processed promptly and a tracking number provided. I checked and saw the hat was in Brisbane. A few days later I got a card to say that I had a package at the post office. To my amazement it was my hat. It had raced across the world! Can't recommend this store too highly.

User picture

Australian Gear is Australia's largest stockist of Aussie Made Hats & Accessories. We have been in business for 30 years and are the largest stockist of the Australian Akubra Hats.

  • Get In Touch
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms & Conditions
  • Return Your Order
  • Delivery & Shipping
  • Returns Policy & Info

Subscribe for exclusive offers and first access to sales and new drops.

  • Aus Croc Souvenirs
  • Before Dark Headwear
  • Dozer Boys Hats
  • GC Hats - Australia
  • Hat Jacks & Accessories
  • HW Collection - Sydney
  • Jacaru Hats Australia
  • Millymook Girls Hats

Let customers speak for us

Perfect flat caps of all styles right here in Aus. Thanks for being a great company - service and value thumbs up

These hats are so worth the money, great design and very well made. Last one I had was 13 years old, and i put it through some extreme tough conditions.

It’s the 3rd I’ve bought for my husband he loves them

Good quality hat. Great value

Love it fits great well made

IMAGES

  1. Akubra Traveller Hat Review

    akubra traveller review

  2. Akubra Traveller Hat Review

    akubra traveller review

  3. Akubra Traveller Sand Hat Review

    akubra traveller review

  4. The Traveller is a soft felt hat made for todays active lifestyle

    akubra traveller review

  5. Akubra Traveller Green

    akubra traveller review

  6. Akubra Traveller

    akubra traveller review

VIDEO

  1. How Waterproof is an Akubra cattleman?

  2. 1 Akubra Place, Dunlop

  3. The Akubracabra

  4. AKUBRA Brand TVC 15sec

  5. Should You Buy? Epicka Universal Travel Adapter

  6. Akubra Hats.mp4

COMMENTS

  1. Akubra Traveller Hat Review

    Check out our product review of the famous Akubra Traveller Hat. Available in Regency Fawn & Bran as stock colours or we have Black and Sand available which...

  2. Stetson Roundabaout vs Akubra Traveller

    6. Location. New Jersey. Hello. I am torn between purchasing a Stetson Roundabout or an Akubra Traveller. Both are crushable. I prefer the narrower snap brim of the Stetson, but am unsure if it is as weather-proof as the Traveller. The Traveller has a wide brim and it does not snap. My other good hat is a Stetson Moose River, but it is not ...

  3. Akubra Traveller Hat Review

    The Akubra Traveller Hat: It's more than just a hat; it's a testament to craftsmanship and innovation. In this video we explore the Traveller hat boasts a unique construction and a memory feature that allows it to always return to its impeccable shape, no matter where your travels take you. Join us in this video review as we take a look into ...

  4. Anyone got an Akubra style hat recommendation? : r/AustralianMFA

    Reply More replies. Charmingpiratex. •. Akubra hats are well worth it. I've had mine for a few years and to be honest, I mistreat the shit out of it. It's still in great condition (If not a tiny bit out of shape). Best $140 you'll ever spend. I've got the territory. It's a beaut.

  5. Akubra Traveller Review

    The Akubra Traveller Hat: Your Perfect Adventurer's CompanionGreetings, fellow adventurers! Today, we're embarking on a journey into the world of the Akubra ...

  6. Akbubra Traveller Black Hat Review

    The Akubra Traveller is a softer more pliable felt hat designed specifically for the adventurer among us. This hat has a unique memory which allows it to be ...

  7. AKUBRA Traveller

    The ideal traveller's hat, featuring a soft, conforming structure. A softer pliable felt hat designed specifically for the adventurer among us. This hat has a unique memory which allows it to be manipulated back to shape if mistreated. Features a plaited leather band and soft inner buckram sweat band. Sizes & Specs: Black, Fern & Sand: Size 53-62

  8. Akubra Traveller

    The Akubra Traveller is the ideal travellers hat, featuring a soft conforming structure and a unique 'memory' for those on the move which makes it the perfect through and go hat because it will never lose its shape. ... Customer Reviews. Based on 5 reviews. Write a review. 40% (2) 40% (2) 20% (1) 0% (0) 0% (0) W . WVBonBonQueen. Nice Hat ...

  9. Akubra Traveller

    The Akubra Traveller is the ideal travellers hat, featuring a soft conforming structure and a unique 'memory' for those on the move which makes it the perfect through and go hat because it will never lose its shape. You will not regret this fabulous purchase! ... Customer Reviews. Based on 7 reviews. Write a review. 86% (6) 14% (1) 0% (0) 0 ...

  10. Akubra Traveller

    The Akubra Traveller is the only hat Akubra makes that is quite pliable and and flexible. It can be semi squashed as it doesn't have the same amount of stiffening in the hat as the traditional Akubra's. ... 31 reviews Felt Care cleaning Kit All felt hats $ 29.95 AUD +ADD. 40% off. Hats by the Hundred Hat Brush Long Handle $ 14.95 AUD $24.95 ...

  11. Traveller Hat by Akubra

    The Traveller is the Akubra to accompany you on your travels. It is the no-worries hat -- put it in your bag or briefcase, or in the overhead bin in the airplane. It is made in Akubra's Pliofelt, a pliable pure fur felt. The crown is 4⅜ inches high and the welted brim with memory insert is 3 inches wide. The 5/16 inch ornamental band has a ...

  12. Akubra Traveller Hat

    The Traveller is a soft felt hat made for today's active lifestyle. Featuring a new, breakthrough design from Akubra. The Traveller is made from quality rabbit fur with a secret ingredient added to make this hat retain its shape better than most other Akubras. The new soft felt allows the hat to be lightly folded to fit into places the other ...

  13. AKUBRA HATS

    The Traveller 🤠🤠Akubra Hats on Amazon https://amzn.... It was time for some new Hats and of course it had to be a Classic Aussie Akubra and because we do... The Traveller 🤠🤠Akubra Hats ...

  14. Akubra Traveller, Leisure Time, or Style Master?

    I noticed recently that they have really expanded the colour options for the Traveller. If you are into the Leisure Time which is a very similar style you might want to check it our with Sam over at Everything Australian. His hat is priced significantly less than $140.00.

  15. Akubra Hats

    Traveller - Bran. 53. Akubra Hats. Pickup available, usually ready in 2 hours. 89 South Street. South Kempsey NSW 2440. Australia. +61265626177. for a limited time on orders over $100.

  16. Traveller

    Akubra embodies the adventurous spirit of Australia. As the last fur felt hat maker in Australia, every hat created in our NSW workshop is a testament to the enduring quality of traditional hat making processes. To wear an Akubra hat is to be part of a legacy that celebrates the Australian identity and the adventures that define it.

  17. Akubra Cattleman Traveller Fur Felt Hat Men Black 6 5/8

    Find helpful customer reviews and review ratings for Akubra Cattleman Traveller Fur Felt Hat Men Black 6 5/8 at Amazon.com. Read honest and unbiased product reviews from our users. ... Akubra Cattleman Traveller Fur Felt Hat Men Black 6 5/8. by Akubra. Size: 6 5/8Color: ...

  18. Akubra Traveller

    The Akubra Traveller is the ideal travellers hat, featuring a soft conforming structure and a unique 'memory' for those on the move which makes it the perfect through and go hat because it will never lose its shape. ... Customer Reviews. Based on 5 reviews. Write a review. 100% (5) 0% (0) 0% (0) 0% (0) 0% (0) J . Justin - Virginia USA ...

  19. Akubra Traveller

    The Akubra Traveller is a resilient hat crafted with a softer, pliable fur felt to cater to the adventurous. ... 1 review 15% off. Rigon Hugh Trilby Natural/Tan $ 46.75 AUD $55.00. 15% off. New Era New York Yankees 39THIRTY Cap New Olive/Everest Green $ 38.20 AUD $44.95. New Olive/Everest Green Vegas Gold New ...

  20. Akubra Campdraft Review

    Akubra Campdraft Aesthetics. Although they're known for their bush and western hats, one of their most versatile hats (and my personal favorite) is the Campdraft. The Campdraft is an open crown fedora fur felt hat with a 5 ½ inch crown, 2 ¾ inch bound edge snap brim and a ½ inch ribbon band. It is fully lined with a reeded roan leather ...

  21. Amazon.com: Customer reviews: Akubra Adventurer

    How customer reviews and ratings work Customer Reviews, including Product Star Ratings help customers to learn more about the product and decide whether it is the right product for them. To calculate the overall star rating and percentage breakdown by star, we don't use a simple average.

  22. Akubra Traveller

    The Akubra Traveller is the ideal travellers hat, featuring a soft conforming structure and a unique 'memory' for those on the move which makes it the perfect through and go hat because it will never lose its shape. ... Customer Reviews. Based on 2 reviews. Write a review. 100% (2) 0% (0) 0% (0) 0% (0) 0% (0) J . John Feeney. Rose Bay NSW ...