- Things to Do
- Holiday homes
- Travel Stories
- Add a Place
- Travel Forum
- Travellers' Choice
- Help Centre
Scotland Tour with Sona Tours Ltd - Cairngorm Mountain
- United Kingdom (UK)
- Scottish Highlands
- Aviemore and the Cairngorms
- Aviemore - Places to Visit
- Cairngorm Mountain
Scotland Tour with Sona Tours Ltd
I had travelled with Sona Tours Ltd a UK based company in month of October and paid GBP15 for this extra excursion which was worth its while. Amazing scenery and excellent commentary on the way up on the train to the top. Will definitely recommend.
I booked the ticket online, as the advert in my hotel room had a 10% discount code for advanced bookings. The trip up the mountain takes approximately 8 minutes, and the service runs every 20 minutes. As the skiing season had not started, the option to get off at the midway station was not possible. Also, at the top, we had to stay within the confines of the building. But saying that, the film and information walls were very informative. And it snowed when I was there, brilliant.
We had a great visit to Aviemore including a lovely day using the mountain railway to go up Cairngorm. Great experience. Nice exhibition and a pleasant lunch.
Visited with my family, cost a fortune to basically wait for ages in a queue, get pushed out the way by rude tourists, sit on a train for 5 minutes then get charged a fortune for some lunch at the top. The views are great, don't get me wrong but I don't need to be ripped off to see them.
Decided to try this out despite the price and was glad we did. Well worth a visit although certainly expensive especially with a family.
Having a friend over from Australia who has never experienced snow before, couldn't get enough of this fantastic day out. Snowing at the car park, all the way up to the ptarmigan top and then enough snow, deep enough to make his first snowman and have a snowball fight. The drivers of the carts where so helpful and friendly. Can't wait to return and go up again for a 4th time.
In the Tour Operator category
Visit this website
Company activity See all
Write a review
Bali senior citizens
We all senior citizens, ladies went to Bali in Sept 2023 and we had a great time. Despite the food was not to our expectations but Sona tours changed the menus to Indian food which made us feel like not missing home. They had chosen great hotels with amazing breakfast menu. The itinerary with all the sight seeings went smoothly. The local guide was very helpful but had a mix English which confused us but gave us a laugh. Will recommend Sona tours for Bali tour.
Date of experience : September 26, 2023
Reply from Sonatours
Dear Ranjna, Many thanks for your review and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We look forward to giving you exceptional service again. We are happy to hear that you have made some new friends and look forward to seeing you travel again together with Sona Tours. We have posted some pictures in our facebook.com/sonatours to remind you of your fond memories for your trip to Bali. Kindly share amongst your friends. Kind Regards Sona Tours Team
Our 2022 Transparency Report has landed
Electrifying japan tour sep 23.
Overall a very good tour although a little hectic. DJ & Emiko looked after us very well. Emiko was a great guide and very informative. The hotels & breakfasts were all great apart from the set breakfast at Sengokuhara Prince Hotel. On the plus side the hotel's Onsen facilities were great. All Indian dinners were good though spicy. Personally we would prefer less chillies, however we understand that Sona has to cater for the whole group. With regards to the non-Indian dinner of pasta & pizza, we would have preferred more than the one slice of pizza and less of the pasta. Thank you Sona for the wonderful surprise of the sushi cooking lesson. It was a lot of fun and we really enjoyed it.Overall we had a great time and look forward to booking another tour in the near future.
Date of experience : September 19, 2023
Hi Harish, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad to hear that you had a positive experience.. Kindly visit our www.facebook.com/sonatours to recollect your memories of pictures on your Japan tour and you most welcome to share it. https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.820692206725034&type=3 Kind Regards, Sona Tours Team
Tour taken was Canada Alaska tour
Tour taken was Canada Alaska tour. Guide was very professional and knowledgeable. Canada on land itinerary was good except last two days. Hells Gate excursion was not worth the time and money spent. Staff members at the office in London has inconsistent answers for the same questions asked by individual group members. We paid for category 2c balcony room but ended up getting lower category 2d room.
Date of experience : August 08, 2023
Dear Bharat Acharya, Many thanks for sharing your review and your positive feedback on the guide and the itinerary. To clarify we had a zoom meeting before the tour departed and all was explained with FAQs at the end too. Furthermore, you had the option not to book Hells Gate excursion which was only CAD$40 (£20). Regards to the cabin if you wanted a specific cabin the price was higher, but you opted for the allocated balcony cabin we had. These contracted cabins are allocated by the cruise as we do a group booking with them. Else the specific one will have been booked at the time of your booking with a much higher price. Please accept our apologies on not getting the balcony cabin as you wished, but overall, I hear you all had a good time, and you joined our group for the whale watching tour. Kind Regards Sona Tours
4 day Scotland Highlands trip aug 2023
We took the 4 days Scotland Highlands tour in August 2023(17th - 20th) and by end of fourth day we realised that Sona travels had arranged a bus travel for 4 days with few sightseeing spots. One of the most basic tours with no facilities in the bus. No WiFi, no charging points and even the toilet had restricted use with zero water facilities. Coming to the tour itinerary - the first day started with a delay of 1 hour. We were not provided with the tour manager contact details and no bus information. Cable car in Ben Nevis was cancelled due to weather issues but there was no alternative arranged. What a shame! Extra charge for boat ride in Loch Lomond. Edinburgh castle visit was arranged on a festival day which made the entire sightseeing very stressful and delayed. Most of the spots were just shown from outside or while being inside the bus. One of the worst tour experiences. Last day ended worst with no sufficient stops for toilets. Tour manager - The tour guide/manager had zero knowledge about these historical beauties. She barely knew anything about the city or any basic information. She was polite and hospital. However there was zero entertainment throughout the trip. It expected that when we are given some positive experience. The only positives were the dinner for first two nights and the driver....who drove very safe and maintained the timings. Hotel - As promised 3 star it was not even a budget stay. The rooms were very basic with no facilities like water bottle, phone, AC or cleaning of sheets. We had request for towel change. Only positive was the breakfast....hot and fresh continental range. I will never recommend this travels to anyone. It's a waste of money experience wise.
Date of experience : August 20, 2023
Dear Deepti Iyer, It is always disappointing to be told of instances where a client’s holiday arrangements may not have proved entirely as anticipated and we have, therefore, noted your observations about your recent booking. We are very sorry. To clarify, this is an escorted group COACH tour and we have published the detailed itinerary with other information in particularize all the sightseeing’s, optional tours, and other matters, such as transport (coach), weather and accommodation too. Regarding the delay, we cannot control the traffic being a road closure due to an accident which was the case in yours as our first pickup was on time. Same with the crowd visiting these public and historic sightseeing during August holiday season. We have got great reviews of this guide as seen on the reviews here. We do sincerely appreciate for you positive feedback on the driver, guide and the meals. Finally, we hope that your confidence has not been affected to an extent that it would prevent you from choosing our company again for your holiday requirements. Kind Regards Sona Tours
Recently went on a 4 day trip to…
Recently went on a 4 day trip to Scotland with Sona Tours. Highly recommend. What an amazing trip & a wonderful time we had A very luxury coach driven by an expert driver - Ali -assisted by a lovely tour manager Sabah with a 24/7 smile on her face No complaints what so ever - every moment was tailored to perfection- Sabah is already doing a great job & wish the almighty gives her enough strength to go further higher & higher up
Date of experience : August 03, 2021
Dear Rekha Haria, Many thanks for your review and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We look forward to giving you exceptional service again. Have a wonderful and a pleasant journey. Kind Regards and be safe Sona Tours Team
We thank Sona Tours, through Mr Vikas Shah for booking and organising a wonder trip for us to the Masai Mara. We really appreciate the service given to us by Vikas Shah, Sona Tours. This is the second trip booked through Sona Tours, and we look forward to booking more trips with Mr Vikas Shah, Sona Tours, as their service and recommendations are fantastic. Thank you Vikas, Sona Tours. Best wishes Priya and Hetul Chandaria
Date of experience : October 12, 2020
I have just returned from an 8 days tour of Iceland with Sona Tours. Chetan, the Tour Manager's capability to manage the group was excellent,very good social skills,sharing his knowledge and experience was welcomed.The coach driver too was full of historical and geographical knowledge which matched my University lectures'.Hats off to him.The itinerary given was brief,but when experienced after visiting each location was beyond expectation. Sona Tours have selected the best sites of Iceland.Value for money memorable trip. Pratima (Bena) Patel
Date of experience : March 30, 2022
Dear Bena Patel, Many thanks for your review and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We look forward to giving you exceptional service again. Have a wonderful and a pleasant journey. Kind Regards and be safe Sona Tours Team
We take this opportunity to thank Sona Tours for an amazing experience to samburu game reserve this was our 1st time and definitely not the last, driver was on time on pickup with a happy and informative personality.. even the provision for snacks and small gifts made a huge impact on welcoming us.. definitely will book again and highly recommend them for all your bookings.
Date of experience : June 21, 2021
We can’t find any faults with…
We can’t find any faults with sonatours, Best tour manager and local guide. Management was good,every little thing was put on tour,will recommend to friends and family. Thanks everybody .
Date of experience : April 09, 2022
Dear Haresh Patel, Many thanks for your review and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We look forward to giving you exceptional service again. Have a wonderful and a pleasant journey. Kind Regards and be safe Sona Tours Team
Just returned from a 8 day Iceland…
Just returned from a 8 day Iceland holiday with Sona Tours and once again the Management was superb, the Coach driver was excellent in his dual role as Guide and Driver, and the winter conditions in Iceland intact added to the experience and pleasure of of the whole trip.Thank you Sona Tours
Date of experience : March 28, 2022
Dear Raj Patel, Many thanks for your review and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We look forward to giving you exceptional service again. Have a wonderful and a pleasant journey. Kind Regards and be safe Sona Tours Team
Electrifying Japan Ajay was brilliant, this is a very comprehensive tour,visit a lot of sites, but Group size too big.
Date of experience : April 11, 2023
Dear Bimal DAve, Many thanks for your review and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We look forward to giving you exceptional service again. Have a wonderful and a pleasant journey. Kind Regards and be safe Sona Tours Team
Worth it! Thoroughly enjoyed the tour…
We all have thoroughly enjoyed the tour where the highlights being excursions like Cable Car Ride at the Nevis Ranges and Cruise ride at the Lake District. Overall food and hotel experience was also quite satisfying. The best part of the tour was the Lead Tour Manager Miss. Saba, co-manager Miss. Chandani and the driver Mr. Mark. Tour managers were not only able to guide us and educate us about the locations but also made sure to keep our interest going during silo hours by playing games, having individual discussions with everyone and encouraging them to look for the best out of this tour. Saba and Chandani also helped us in celebrating my dad's surprise 70th birthday celebration in a very unique and beautiful way. This gesture strongly proves how Sona Tours staff takes personal efforts to bring smiles on their customers faces. Highly obliged with the way Saba and Chandani has managed the overall trip, Kudos to them. Mark is a great driver and quite patient, calm and composed person. Hat's off to his driving skills and knowledge of the roads. I believe that 3 of them are the real assets of the Sona Tours and truly deserve a huge round of applause and appreciation. I would highly recommend Sona Tours to friends and family after such a wonderful Scotland Highlands tour experience.
Date of experience : August 09, 2022
It has been a great trip to the Lake…
It has been a great trip to the Lake District with the family. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. Thank you
Date of experience : September 02, 2023
Hi Shila Shah, We are delighted you enjoyed your Peak and Lake District trip with Sona Tours! Your feedback is much appreciated! We're thrilled to hear that you've had an enjoyable holiday and we appreciate your recommendation to bring your friends and family along. Kind Regards and be safe Sona Tours Team
Thank you for give me good option for…
Thank you for give me good option for tour and good price for 27/05 other companyies is to expensive or remove date
Date of experience : May 16, 2023
Dear Mehul, Many thanks for your review and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We look forward to giving you exceptional service again. Have a wonderful and a pleasant journey. Kind Regards and be safe Sona Tours Team
A fantastic experience and a great…
A fantastic experience and a great itinerary packed with lots of sightseeing. Ajay handled the big group very well.
Date of experience : April 22, 2023
Dear Ketan Mehta, Many thanks for your review and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We look forward to giving you exceptional service again. Have a wonderful and a pleasant journey. Kind Regards and be safe Sona Tours Team
My awful expriance with sonatours
I booked with sona tours twice before that’s my third time this experience was so bad they didn’t stay with the planned day the driver lost several time took wrong turns we spend the whole day on the coach than the Indian food place was non vegetarian instead of a halal food as I request on the application and it was awful experience , than the hotel was good looking the rooms air condition was not working in either of those nights and Tv was not working in my room complaint to Receiption no results and daughter got bitted by bed bugs awfully the bathroom door lock not working none our bedsheets wore changed . Than tour guide was not so nice he was busy guiding his native peoples.I requested to seat with my family the agent in the office said the tour guide will arrange it than the tours guide also said the once we get all the people than his going to sort out our seats but these 3 day tour he never sorted it out my family we all seat far from each other .than the Disneyland day tour guide give out Disney tickets but not my family he keep saying he has my ticket but didn’t give it us until I got bit angry my kids wore upset not having the tickets.I paid more money as my little one didn’t go on the offer so I paid full ticket price for all of us .experience this rubbish time it would be much better to take euro star never take this service again in my life I would advise everyone better to us other service than this you don’t get full day tour we all stack in the coach for whole first day.
Date of experience : August 18, 2023
Dear Mrs R Ali It is always disappointing to be told of instances where a client’s holiday arrangements may not have proved entirely as anticipated and we have, therefore, noted your observations about your recent booking. We are very sorry. To clarify, this is an escorted group COACH tour, and your booking came in late, less than 2 weeks before departure, after we had closed sales, as you insisted and have travelled with us thus, we accommodated you. We had explained you the reason for paying extra. Which was the contracted ticket to Disney needs to be booked before 30days and we got the group tickets in advance, delivered to our office. Whereas yours was different due to the late booking. Regarding seating arrangement, all the seats were allocated in the bus on first come first serve basis as then not fair to move others to accommodate your family and was communicated at the time of booking. We did request other passengers during the tour, but not keen to move. We were sorry to read of your disappointment about your accommodation. Without wishing to appear unsympathetic, we confirm that the service provided by the hotel is outside of our direct control. We are sorry to read the problems you encountered with your room however we do hope you will appreciate this matter is beyond our direct control. Finally, we hope that your confidence has not been affected to an extent that it would prevent you from choosing our company again for your holiday requirements. Kind Regards Sona Tours
Very happy with the service
Very happy with the service. My holiday was cancelled due to Covid 19. I was kept informed all the time and I was given the full refund without any hassle. I did not have to chase them. I would recommend Sona Tours.
Date of experience : September 25, 2020
Many thanks for your kind and positive words and do appreciate for your patience during this unforeseen circumstances. God bless
Never book with Sona Tours
On 11th February 2022 I booked a package holiday with Sona Tours to go to Alaska. We were supposed to go in August 2022 and there were 15 of us going. We booked the trip in February and each paid £100 deposit. Unfortunately in April I was diagnosed with Stage 4 cancer and would not be able to go on this holiday. My husband went to their office immediately to inform them that we would need to cancel our place on the trip and I sent an email on 25th April confirming the cancellation. We did not hear anything back from Sona Tours. In June, we received an email demanding we pay £3250 (half the cost of the holiday) as a cancellation fee. As you can imagine, this was a huge shock to us and not something we could afford as we had spent a lot of money on my cancer treatment. They also pretended that they could not find our original email informing them of our cancellation (but later they found it). We hoped under the circumstances they would be more understanding of our situation, but they demonstrated no empathy for the toll this was taking on my mental health. Meanwhile my husband contacted our travel insurance, who were extremely supportive, and they thankfully told us that they will pay the amount to Sona Tours directly. We informed Sona Tours of this but instead they sent us a court order and a deadline to pay the amount. They did not want to deal with our insurance company, they only wanted us to pay them. In the end our insurance company paid them £3250 but we still had to pay the court fee (because it’s in their T&C’s that we need to pay the court fee) of £205. They final vulgar act Sona Tours did, was they refused to give us back our deposit of £200 after they had received their payment, and decided to take this as their court fee. I am writing this to highlight what a terrible company Sona Tours is and how disgusting their behaviour has been towards me. Their emails, particularly from Chetan, were extremely rude and threatening. Had it not been for my daughters, who had to respond to them on my behalf because I was too unwell. I should not have had to deal with this stress shortly after being diagnosed with Stage 4 cancer and having to go through chemo and surgery. I urge anyone considering booking a holiday via Sona Tours to think twice about it and go through their unfair terms and conditions with a fine tooth comb so you know what to expect in case anything should go wrong. I hope this helps prevent someone else from going through what I have had to go through with them.
Date of experience : February 11, 2022
Dear Dipti Shah, It is always disappointing to be told of instances where a client’s holiday arrangements may not have proved entirely as anticipated and we have, therefore, noted your observations about your recent booking. We are very sorry. The facts are that when you booked, signed, and agreed to our Terms and Conditions, we had explained about the low deposit scheme, cancellations and recommended to have a travel insurance and all well covered in our T & C. The original booking form with T & C were returned to you, as we kept a scan copy. We are fully ABTA and ATOL bonded thus prepare our T& C accordingly. Despite the many demands requested for the balance you had not responded. Only when the matter went legal, you initiated the matter with the insurance. Any insurance will not liaise with us as we are a third party to them, and we have no contractual agreement as you expected us to liaise with them. This matter could have resolved with ease. Finally, we hope that your confidence has not been affected to an extent that it would prevent you from choosing our company again for your holiday requirements. Kind Regards Sona Tours
Great team at Sona Tours
Great team at Sona Tours; very pleasant.
Date of experience : September 15, 2023
Dear Simal, Many thanks for your review and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We look forward to giving you exceptional service again. Have a wonderful and a pleasant journey. Kind Regards and be safe Sona Tours Team
Hi Jatin Mania, We are delighted you enjoyed your Japan tour with Sona Tours! Your feedback is much appreciated! We're thrilled to hear that you've had an enjoyable holiday and we appreciate your recommendation to bring your friends and family along. You can view all your pics on our FB Japan Sept 2023 Album on www.facebook.com/sonatours and you most welcome to share the shame to your album Kind Regards and be safe Sona Tours Team